The SDL forums have moved to discourse.libsdl.org.
This is just a read-only archive of the previous forums, to keep old links working.


SDL Forum Index
SDL
Simple Directmedia Layer Forums
[SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?
JeZ-l-Lee


Joined: 20 Sep 2009
Posts: 572
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
[SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?

Hi,

My team and I are developing a new 2d video game engine based on SDL 2.

We have found a problem:
On Windows 8 when the SDL 2 window is resized, texture alpha transparency fails?
(on window resize, alpha transparency is constantly fully opaque)

Anyone know why this occurs and know of a solution?
Thanks!

If you want to look at the source code or run the Windows binary then download from below URL:
http://16bitsoft.com/V2/Files/SDL2/TC4/Alpha/SDL2-TC4_Alpha1.zip
[SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?
Sam Lantinga


Joined: 10 Sep 2009
Posts: 1765
I think I have a fix for this.

Can you try the attached patch?


On Sat, Aug 17, 2013 at 2:53 AM, JeZ-l-Lee wrote:
Quote:
[SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?

Hi,

My team and I are developing a new 2d video game engine based on SDL 2.

We have found a problem:
On Windows 8 when the SDL 2 window is resized, texture alpha transparency fails?
(on window resize, alpha transparency is constantly fully opaque)

Anyone know why this occurs and know of a solution?
Thanks!

If you want to look at the source code or run the Windows binary then download from below URL:
http://16bitsoft.com/V2/Files/SDL2/TC4/Alpha/SDL2-TC4_Alpha1.zip



JeZ+Lee
JessePalser <AT> Gmail <DOT> com
16BitSoft(R)
Video Game Design Studio
www.16BitSoft.com


_______________________________________________
SDL mailing list

http://lists.libsdl.org/listinfo.cgi/sdl-libsdl.org

Re: [SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?
JeZ-l-Lee


Joined: 20 Sep 2009
Posts: 572
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

How do I patch my SDL - I am using the already compiled Windows version from the website?

I don't know how to patch it.

JeZ+Lee



Sam Lantinga wrote:
I think I have a fix for this.

Can you try the attached patch?


On Sat, Aug 17, 2013 at 2:53 AM, JeZ-l-Lee wrote:
Quote:
[SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?

Hi,

My team and I are developing a new 2d video game engine based on SDL 2.

We have found a problem:
On Windows 8 when the SDL 2 window is resized, texture alpha transparency fails?
(on window resize, alpha transparency is constantly fully opaque)

Anyone know why this occurs and know of a solution?
Thanks!

If you want to look at the source code or run the Windows binary then download from below URL:
http://16bitsoft.com/V2/Files/SDL2/TC4/Alpha/SDL2-TC4_Alpha1.zip



JeZ+Lee
JessePalser <AT> Gmail <DOT> com
16BitSoft(R)
Video Game Design Studio
www.16BitSoft.com


_______________________________________________
SDL mailing list

http://lists.libsdl.org/listinfo.cgi/sdl-libsdl.org

[SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?
Mason Wheeler
Guest

The idea is that you build it yourself from source, and incorporate the patch.



From: JeZ-l-Lee
To:
Sent: Saturday, August 17, 2013 10:56 AM
Subject: Re: [SDL] [SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?


Hi,

Thanks for the reply.

How do I patch my SDL - I am using the already compiled Windows version from the website?

I don't know how to patch it.

JeZ+Lee










Sam Lantinga wrote: I think I have a fix for this.

Can you try the attached patch?


On Sat, Aug 17, 2013 at 2:53 AM, JeZ-l-Lee <> wrote:







Quote: [SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?

Hi,

My team and I are developing a new 2d video game engine based on SDL 2.

We have found a problem:
On Windows 8 when the SDL 2 window is resized, texture alpha transparency fails?
(on window resize, alpha transparency is constantly fully opaque)

Anyone know why this occurs and know of a solution?
Thanks!

If you want to look at the source code or run the Windows binary then download from below URL:
http://16bitsoft.com/V2/Files/SDL2/TC4/Alpha/SDL2-TC4_Alpha1.zip



JeZ+Lee
JessePalser Gmail com
16BitSoft(R)
Video Game Design Studio
www.16BitSoft.com


_______________________________________________
SDL mailing list

http://lists.libsdl.org/listinfo.cgi/sdl-libsdl.org







_______________________________________________
SDL mailing list

http://lists.libsdl.org/listinfo.cgi/sdl-libsdl.org
Re: [SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?
JeZ-l-Lee


Joined: 20 Sep 2009
Posts: 572
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
Mason Wheeler wrote:
The idea is that you build it yourself from source, and incorporate the patch.


Hi,

Sorry, I don't know how to build SDL2 from source, I use Code::Blocks C++ IDE on Windows 8.

Is there a work-around I can try in my game project's source code?
Re: [SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?
Sparks


Joined: 01 Jun 2013
Posts: 47
JeZ-l-Lee wrote:
Mason Wheeler wrote:
The idea is that you build it yourself from source, and incorporate the patch.


Hi,

Sorry, I don't know how to build SDL2 from source, I use Code::Blocks C++ IDE on Windows 8.

Is there a work-around I can try in my game project's source code?

It is not difficult to set up a virtual machine running linux, and install a cross-compiler to make windows builds for you.
If you don't want to do that, I suggest you download visual C++ EE addition (free), and use that to make builds of SDL (and your program) (The IDE is much better than anything else I have seen on windows or linux, and the debugger is outstanding!).
[SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?
prushik


Joined: 18 Apr 2010
Posts: 25
On Sun, Aug 18, 2013 at 5:44 AM, Sparks wrote:
Quote:

It is not difficult to set up a virtual machine running linux, and install a cross-compiler to make windows builds for you.
If you don't want to do that, I suggest you download visual C++ EE addition (free), and use that to make builds of SDL (and your program) (The IDE is much better than anything else I have seen on windows or linux, and the debugger is outstanding!).


_______________________________________________
SDL mailing list

http://lists.libsdl.org/listinfo.cgi/sdl-libsdl.org


Or you could probably install msys and build it like you would on Linux
JeZ-l-Lee


Joined: 20 Sep 2009
Posts: 572
Location: Long Island, New York, United States, Earth
Hi,

Sam fixed this issue and provided this new DLL:
http://16bitsoft.com/V2/Files/SDL2/SDL2.dll

Thanks!
[SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?
Ryan C. Gordon
Guest

Quote:
It is not difficult to set up a virtual machine running linux, and
install a cross-compiler to make windows builds for you.

That's sort of a roundabout way of doing things, isn't it? Smile

--ryan.


_______________________________________________
SDL mailing list

http://lists.libsdl.org/listinfo.cgi/sdl-libsdl.org
[SDL2]-Transparency Fails After Window Resize?
Sik


Joined: 26 Nov 2011
Posts: 905
Just wait until one gives up on the cross-compiler and builds using
Wine instead.

2013/8/18, Ryan C. Gordon:
Quote:

Quote:
It is not difficult to set up a virtual machine running linux, and
install a cross-compiler to make windows builds for you.

That's sort of a roundabout way of doing things, isn't it? Smile

--ryan.


_______________________________________________
SDL mailing list

http://lists.libsdl.org/listinfo.cgi/sdl-libsdl.org

_______________________________________________
SDL mailing list

http://lists.libsdl.org/listinfo.cgi/sdl-libsdl.org