The SDL forums have moved to discourse.libsdl.org.
This is just a read-only archive of the previous forums, to keep old links working.

SDL Forum Index
SDL
Simple Directmedia Layer Forums
SDL_UpdateTexture vs Locking
Alvin Beach

Hello,

I am not new to SDL (2D software rendering part), but I am new to SDL2. I was wondering what is the proper way to update a streaming texture?

I have been experimenting with using SDL_UpdateTexture and with SDL_LockTexture(). From my highly non-scientific benchmarking, it seems that
SDL_UpdateTexture() is slightly faster than using SDL_LockTexture().

My experimentation consists of using a loop to get a frame from ffmpeg (ignoring timestamps) and rendering/blitting that frame
to the current window/texture. I have a single texture that uses SDL_TEXTUREACCESS_STREAMING. The pixel format for both the texture and the
frame that I get from ffmpeg is RGB24.

Using SDL_UpdateTexture() I do something along the lines of (in a loop):

const unsigned char *frame_data = function_that_gets_frame_using_ffmpeg();

SDL_UpdateTexture(texture, NULL, frame_data, pitch);

Where 'texture' is a single, streaming texture for the single renderer and window. Pitch is known as well.

My other experiment was to use SDL_LockTexture(), again in a loop (omitting error checking):

const unsigned char *frame_data = function_that_gets_frame_using_ffmpeg();

byte_t *texture_data = NULL;
int texture_pitch = 0;

SDL_LockTexture(texture, 0, (void**)&texture_data, &texture_pitch));

memcpy(texture_data, frame_data, w*h*Bpp);

SDL_UnlockTexture(texture);

Where, w, h and Bpp are known.

The reason I ask is that the docs for SDL_UpdateTexture() state the function is fairly slow. Could that be relative and not be noticeable
in my trivial experiments?

If it matters, I am planning on trying the same experiments on my Android (4.0) tablet. I have a working Android project thanks to the excellent
documentation in README.android.