The SDL forums have moved to discourse.libsdl.org.
This is just a read-only archive of the previous forums, to keep old links working.

SDL Forum Index
SDL
Simple Directmedia Layer Forums
Q&A from a guy migrating to SDL2
bazz

I am going to be getting deep inside SDL2 (why cant she be a hot sexy girl) She's close enough Smile
Before I do that, I assume it would be of good etiquette to provide some background on me as a software developer, so that I may show that I am experienced. I am currently a college undergrad @ UmassBoston studying computer science, and have been programming since I was 10. I started about the time I found BASIC on a computer in elementary school, sporting the hit game BANANA

Nice.. My friends somehow figured out how to run it. And I thought it was cool that the code was there to show you how it works. I of course didn't understand much, but that was the upside. I like to learn Smile I wanted to make my own video game Smile

I fondly remember walking through Borders book store with my mom and I would go strraight to the computers section. I ended up picking up a book, Linus Torvald's auto-b called Just for Fun. Somehow I really looked up to him, probably only cause it reaffirmed my habits with a positive light. Staying up late coding, learning, etc. Smile Linus always said he believed in a good night's sleep. Man will I ever learn how to do that Smile hahahahah

Anyways flash forward.. You learn a zillion languages and somehow God places you heree. on a SDL forum.. because you picked up your old game from highschool that was in SDL 1.2 .. you were bored cause you were on break and I say to myself, "im gonna bring her back" Smile So i did, and now I'm here. I want to make a hit video game Smile I want to Make it Meatball Smile

Migrating from SDL 1.2.15 to SDL2
Aside from using http://wiki.libsdl.org/moin.cgi/MigrationGuide

1) Migrating from Surfaces -> Renderers and Textures