The SDL forums have moved to discourse.libsdl.org.
This is just a read-only archive of the previous forums, to keep old links working.

SDL Forum Index
SDL
Simple Directmedia Layer Forums
Is there is any guide for mixing Opengl and SDL rendering?
gabf83

Hello All,

I've tried to implement a 2D dynamic lighting algorithm based on filling triangles, unfortunately it would not perform well with the SLD_Renderer functions, and so I realized that using OpenGL (with which I have no experience) for drawing the triangles would be a possible solution.

Basically, what I would like to be able to do is: Keep using SDL for copying to and from SDL_Textures just as I have been working so far, and use OpenGL only to render triangles to an SDL_Texture which I also could copy from.

So.., It has been weeks now, reading and experimenting with OpenGL, and unfortunately I have not been able to mix SDL and OpenGL, here is basically the test I am stuck with:

* Initialized OpenGL with SDL (OpenGL SDL window, OpenGL context tied to the SDL window).
* Created an SDL_Renderer tied to the SDL window so that I could create SDL_Textures.
* Created an SDL_Texture that I filled with a color using the SDL_Renderer.
* Created the data buffers (VBOs and VAO) for a QUAD that fills the screen and the VUs that would texture the QUAD.
* I bond the SDL_Texture with SDL_GL_BindTexture.
* Run the shader program (vertex and fragment shaders) that is supposed that take the data and draw to the screen.

So well, it did not work, I don't even know if it is possible or what I am missing.

Lastly, just to be clear, I have been able to draw and fill the QUAD with colors using OpenGL rendering only, but I'm having a hard time with mixing SDL_Textures and Renderer with OpenGL.

Any help I could get I'll be so very thankful, I don't want to give up on my 2D Dynamic lighting.

Best Regards
Gabriel
Bob Rubbens