The SDL forums have moved to discourse.libsdl.org.
This is just a read-only archive of the previous forums, to keep old links working.

SDL Forum Index
SDL
Simple Directmedia Layer Forums
SDL texture scale down with 'linear' filter
JohnD

Hi everyone,

I am new to SDL and i am developing a 2D game using SDL 2.0.3.
I use textures with power of 2 sizes.
I want to scale down textures but i have the following issue:
-When i render a texture by scaling it down to 50% of original size using linear filter ( SDL_SetHint(SDL_HINT_RENDER_SCALE_QUALITY, "linear"); ) new image is fine (anti-aliased). So filter is applied.
-When i render the same texture by scaling it down to 25% of original size, image is not fine (aliased - hard edges). It looks like 'linear' filter is not applied or not effective enough.

I scale down a texture by using SDL_RenderCopy and modifying destination rect to new size.

Trying to figure out what is happening i made the following test:
Take original texture and render it to a new texture by scaling it down at 50% of original. Then take new texture and render it on screen by scaling down at 50% of new one.
So final image is 25% of original. Result is fine (anti-aliased). So there is a method to have a 25% of original texture anti-aliased, but this way seems to be a bad practice.

Other scaling methods like SDL_RenderSetScale or SDL_RenderSetLogicalSize have the same poor results.

Are all the above a normal behaviour? Is 'linear' filter only good for scale down up to 50% of original? Or am i missing something?
If everything is fine how can i scale down to 25% having anti-aliased results with smooth edges?

Thanks
MikeyPro