The SDL forums have moved to discourse.libsdl.org.
This is just a read-only archive of the previous forums, to keep old links working.

SDL Forum Index
SDL
Simple Directmedia Layer Forums
[SDL2, MinGW, CMake] feedback and compile steps
DarioOO

[quote="DarioOO"]Actually I'm pretty satisfied by SDL2 supporting partially CMake, here's my feedback so that users could compile SDL2 in a very easy way and so developers could help. I was able to configure and compile it in 5 minutes (compile time included).

I'm interested in helping there with Cmake (I'm still learning it, but already have my cross platform toolchain setted up) but seems internally SDL is really complicated, so for now I won't touch it Very Happy

1) Download SDL2 source release and unzip somewhere.

2) Use a simple script to call CMake (I know bash and batch are not portable, but the steps are so simple that I guess any shell environment can do that)

In my case I have the whole toolchaing on windows so here's a batch snapshot, but if you need it I can provide bash or sh versions (you can easily do that yourself):

I'm calling the script inside the SDL2 folder (i double click it)

Code:

set PATH=F:/Git/_Toolchains/GCC_492_posix_dwarf2/mingw32/bin;C:/Program Files/CMake/bin/
set CC=F:/Git/_Toolchains/GCC_492_posix_dwarf2/mingw32/bin/gcc
set CXX=F:/Git/_Toolchains/GCC_492_posix_dwarf2/mingw32/bin/g++
set DXSDK_DIR=F:\Git\_Toolchains\GCC_492_posix_dwarf2\mingw32\i686-w64-mingw32\include\ddk

mkdir build
cd build
mkdir GCC_492_posix_dwarf2
cd GCC_492_posix_dwarf2

cmake ../../ -G "CodeBlocks - MinGW Makefiles"
mingw32-make all

3) you have the dll, just link it in your application.

I tried (with success) following compilers:
GCC 4.8.x (sjlj)
GCC 4.9.x (dwarf2)

However, indipendently of wich compiler flags I force from outside (CMAKE_BUILD_TYPE := Release/Debug etc.), SDL will try its own compiler flags wich results in a rather big executable (4 Mb instead of 300kb): there's some room for improvement.