The SDL forums have moved to discourse.libsdl.org.
This is just a read-only archive of the previous forums, to keep old links working.


SDL Forum Index
SDL
Simple Directmedia Layer Forums
SDL2-widgets, toolkit using SDL2, now hardware accellerated
wboe


Joined: 09 Jan 2012
Posts: 41
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Hi,

I don't know whether somebody is interested, but I ported GUI toolkit SDL-widgets to SDL2. Because it now enables hardware accelleration intermixed with traditional software rendering, it is also fit for games and other applications that request fast rendering. You can intermix complicated widget hierarchies with highspeed graphics. The only restriction is that floating, movable subwindows don't work at the accellerated parts.

For screenshots and download go to http://members.chello.nl/w.boeke/SDL-widgets/index.html
SDL2-widgets, toolkit using SDL2, now hardware accellerated
Torsten Giebl


Joined: 12 Sep 2009
Posts: 172
Hello !


Quote:
I don't know whether somebody is interested, but I ported GUI toolkit SDL-widgets to SDL2.
Because it now enables hardware accelleration intermixed with traditional software rendering,
it is also fit for games and other applications that request fast rendering. You can intermix
complicated widget hierarchies with highspeed graphics. The only restriction is that floating,
movable subwindows don't work at the accellerated parts.

For screenshots and download go to http://members.chello.nl/w.boeke/SDL-widgets/index.html

Sounds awesome, what license is used by SDL-widgets ?


CU
_______________________________________________
SDL mailing list

http://lists.libsdl.org/listinfo.cgi/sdl-libsdl.org
royzhang


Joined: 08 Jan 2013
Posts: 1
Location: Beijing, P.R.China
Great work! wboe,

I am interested in it!
My project is kind of a media player for android to play back e-lesson files of our own format.
I have compiled sdl2-widgets for android and imported it into my project, a simple test, the "catch me" button, is working.
I will try to use it to implement a player control panel.

for your info, sdl_gfx has been ported to libSDL2, it is called as SDL2_gfx
http://sourceforge.net/projects/sdl2gfx/

Thanks for your work!
wboe


Joined: 09 Jan 2012
Posts: 41
Location: Amsterdam, Netherlands
Torsten:
Quote:
Sounds awesome, what license is used by SDL-widgets ?

The code that I borrowed from others is GPL'ed. My own code is free.

royzhang:
Quote:
I have compiled sdl2-widgets for android and imported it into my project, a simple test, the "catch me" button, is working.


That's good news! I have another project called And-Sdl, geared to tablets running Android. It appears that several combinations of blitting, rendering and texture locking that work perfectly on the desktop do not work on Android. Yes I reported it at Bugzilla. One app Touch-Synth that works on my tablet fails on other tablets. I went to a big store where you can play with gadgets unattendedly and downloaded my apk file. Surprise: no tablet worked as expected. The Nexus 7 was the worst, not only disappeared most from the screen if I touched it, but what was visible kind of started to stutter. The problems are under investigation. I should buy several tablets to find out what's wrong, with help from the adb tool. You can't do that in a store.
Fuentes


Joined: 19 May 2013
Posts: 2
Any chance to get a Windows port of this great lib?
AFAIK SDL-widgets is the most functional, most maintained and most refined SDL GUI library out there, but only works in Linux (or *nix like?).

So... You have any plans, or any intention to support the windows os?

Many thxs in advance.
MrTAToad


Joined: 13 Feb 2014
Posts: 205
Location: Chichester, England
Yes, would really like a Windows version, although it does look like it would require a fair bit of work to get it to be platform-generic rather than Linux orientated.
MrTAToad


Joined: 13 Feb 2014
Posts: 205
Location: Chichester, England
I've started modifying the code to allow this to be compiled using Visual Studio 2015.

There is one line it currently refuses to compile : loc((Point[]){ Point(-3,0), Point(3,0), Point(1,mid.y-2), Point(-1,mid.y-2) }), // pointer

at line 1130 (Dial class initialisation)
MrTAToad


Joined: 13 Feb 2014
Posts: 205
Location: Chichester, England
Think I may have solved it with : loc{ Point(-3,0), Point(3,0), Point(1,mid.y-2), Point(-1,mid.y-2) }, // pointer instead

Now to deal with the loss of data warnings
SDLer


Joined: 10 Aug 2013
Posts: 9
Did you ever manage to get this to work in visual studio?
MrTAToad


Joined: 13 Feb 2014
Posts: 205
Location: Chichester, England
Somewhat - unfortunately it uses too many UNIX specific functions (rather than general functions), which meant having to find a very old library to be able to use it.